• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition
2-3 Tage
Product number: WER 68082
Incl. Tax, Excl. Shipping
Title is available

Product Details


Robert Schumann and Jörg Widmann – a musical dialogue between a modern and a Romantic composer. WERGO juxtaposes four piano works of the two composers and takes a look at Schumann on his 200th birthday from a somewhat different perspective: His works „Nachtstücke“ and „Gesänge der Frühe“ as well as Widmann's „Toccata“ and eponymous sonata „Fleurs du mal“ are interpreted by the Sicilian pianist Fabio Romano, whom the magazine Fono Forum has recently chosen as "best up-and-coming artist of the year".

Seeing himself deeply rooted in the classical-Romantic tradition as a composer and interpreter, and regularly entering into a dialogue with Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert as a world-renowned clarinettist and experimental composer par excellence, Jörg Widmann has discovered in himself and developed a special affinity particularly towards the music by Robert Schumann. It is particularly in his chamber music works that Widmann repeatedly makes direct references to works of the great Romanticist; but there are also subtle hints at related moments: breaks – and bridges into the unknown, on either side. And not seldom are they fields of twilight, of nightmares, of the dark side of the Moon which are explored…


Jörg Widmann: Toccata for piano - Robert Schumann: Nachtstücke, op. 23 - Jörg Widmann: Fleurs du mal. Piano sonata after Baudelaire - Robert Schumann: Gesänge der Frühe, op. 133

More Information

Fleurs du mal
72 ′3 ′′

Technical Details

Product number:
WER 68082
0,1 kg

More from this series

WERGO Concept


Be the first to review this product.