• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition
Marek Janowski

Marek Janowski

Country of origin: Germany
Birthday: February 18, 1939

About Marek Janowski

Marek Janowski has been the Artistic Director of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra) since 2002. From 2005 to 2012, he was Music Director of the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande in Geneva. Between 1984 and 2000, he developed the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France to its position as France’s top orchestra. Moreover, he has been Artistic Director of the Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne (1986–90), the Dresden Philharmonic (2001–03) and the Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo (2000–05). Leading orchestras of the world continue to invite Marek Janowski as a guest conductor because of his innovative programming ideas and his unusual view of undervalued as well as better-known pieces. He regularly works in the USA with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, and the Philadelphia Orchestra, and in Europe with the Orchestre de Paris, the Tonhalle Orchestra in Zurich, the Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra in Copenhagen, and the North German Radio Symphony Orchestra in Hamburg.

Born in Warsaw in 1939, brought up and trained in Germany, Marek Janowski’s careeer has taken him via Aachen, Cologne, Düsseldorf and Hamburg as Music Director to Freiburg and Dortmund. Since the late 1970s, there is no opera house with a world reputation (for example, the Metropolitan Opera in New York, the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, the operas in Chicago, San Francisco, and Hamburg, as well as those in Vienna, Berlin and Paris) where he has not been a regular guest. Over 50 recordings, most of them international prize winners – including numerous complete operatic recordings and complete symphonic cycles – have contributed to making the unique conducting abilities of Marek Janowski internationally known.

In 2014 Marek Janowski has been awarded an honorary award for his Henze recordings (among others) published by WERGO: “An educator of orchestras by grace, an uncompromising fighter for quality.” (German Record Critics' Award)