• Joy of Music – Plus de 250 ans de qualité, innovation et tradition

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

À propos de Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

In the 70 years of its existence, the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin (DSO Berlin) has achieved an outstanding reputation through its stylistic security, its recordings for radio, CD, and television, its commitment to contemporary music, and the long list of prominent conductors who have worked with the orchestra. Founded in 1946 as the RIAS Symphony Orchestra, it was re-named the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra in 1956, and has been known by its current name since 1993.

As its first Principal Conductor, Ferenc Fricsay set high standards for repertory, ensemble sound, and media presence. In 1964, the young Lorin Maazel assumed artistic responsibility. He was followed in 1982 by Riccardo Chailly and by Vladimir Ashkenazy in 1989. In 2000, Kent Nagano was named Principal Conductor. Since 2006, he has remained in contact with the orchestra as Honorary Conductor. From 2007 to 2010, Ingo Metzmacher was Nagano’s successor with progressive programming and a consistent commitment to music of the 20th and 21st centuries. Since September 2012, Tugan Sokhiev has been Principal Conductor and Artistic Director of the DSO Berlin. With the beginning of the 2017-2018 season, the Englishman Robin Ticciati will follow him.

In addition to its concerts in Berlin, the DSO is a frequent guest at concerts and festivals around the world. The orchestra has appeared in Europe, North and South America, the Middle East, and Asia. Its CD recordings have won numerous international awards. The DSO is a part of the Berlin Radio Orchestra and Choir GmbH (roc berlin), which is supported by Deutschlandradio, the German federal government, the state of Berlin, and Radio Berlin-Brandenburg.