• Joy of Music – Plus de 250 ans de qualité, innovation et tradition

Osamu Kawakami

Pays d'origine: Japon
Date d'anniversaire: 14 novembre 1979

À propos de Osamu Kawakami

Osamu KAWAKAMI (b.1979, Tokyo) received his bachelor’s and master’s degree in composition from Tokyo College of Music. He studied composition under Joji Yuasa, Shin-ichiro Ikebe, Toshio Hosokawa, Noriko Hisada, and Hiroyuki Yamamoto. His TILT for flute and clarinet won the JSCM Gen-on Shinjin-sho (new composer’s award) in 2003. The performance of his Gatling Johann by the ensemble, Honkadori Project won an award at Harmonia Cup in La Folle Journée au Japon (2009). His works have been performed at Takefu International Music Festival (2009/2012), Royaumont Composition Seminar in France (2010), HIROSHIMA HAPPY NEW EAR X (2011), and Daegu International Contemporary Music Festival (2014). On top of that, many of his contemporaries such as Mayumi Miyata, Toshiya Suzuki, Ryuta Nishikawa, Vox humana, Ken’ichi Nakagawa, Toshio Nakagawa, Takashi Matsudaira, Hiroaki Ooi, Fumiko Kai, Kaori Osuga, Yoshu Kamei, Tomoki Tai, Koki Fujimoto, and Nicolas Horvath, have performed his chamber, solo, and choir works. His recent works include Suite “About Rhinogradentia” for baritone, violin, percussion, and piano (2014), and IRIS for left hand piano (2014). He is deeply interested in living creatures overall, and many of his works have been titled after them. His works can be described by the fresh diatonic melodic resonance heard in works such as the Suite “Carapace” for violin, cello, and piano, and the aggressive sound heard in Ganymede, and Grizzly. Many of his works also exhibit rhythms and grooves not limited to that of classical and contemporary music. He is currently a member of Ensemble Contemporary α, Honkadori Project, and Tokyo Ensemnable Factory. He also improvises on cello and piano, and often collaborates with various music, dance, and other form of arts. (as of 16 March 2015)

Liste d'œuvres