• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition
2-3 Tage
Hire/performance material

Fire and Ice

for orchestra
Edition: Performance material

Product Details


Though this work has little to do with the end of all things as suggested in the poem of Robert Frost, it does have to do with the idea of contrasts. The work contains two movements of contrasting character. The first movement (Ice) is slow, lyrical, and ethereal, making use of the high strings and the bowing of various percussion instruments. The second movement (Fire) is a high-energy study in orchestral virtuosity. The first movement opens with a bell-like gesture, accompanied by pizzicato strings, which comes back numerous times in different guises. The music that follows builds and recedes many times, but ultimately ends in quiet reflection. The atmospheric, “icy” sounds are produced by the bowing of the Vibraphone and Crotales in the Percussion section, along with high string harmonics. The second movement, marked Presto con fuoco, literally “with fire”, propels forward in constant motion. Towards the beginning, a solo woodwind theme is played first by a lone clarinet then all the upper woodwinds in close canon. This serves as a kind of refrain throughout the movement and is heard numerous times. Again, the Percussion section is very important and towards the end there is an extended passage for the Percussion alone, all playing various kinds of drums.

Orchestral Cast

pic.2.2.3(3.Ebcl).2.cbsn-, vib, crot, tri, 2sus cym, 3s.d, 3tom-t, 3bng, brake d, b.d, chimes, anvil/metal plate)-pno-str


I Ice
II Fire

These movements are available to be performed separately, with permission from the publisher. Please contact the Schott rental library in your territory to request permission.

More Information

Fire and Ice
for orchestra
Performance material
Schott Music
Year of composition:
20 ′
World Premiere:
February 23, 2007 · Oakland, CA (USA)
Conductor: Michael Morgan · Oakland East Bay Symphony

Commissioned work :
Commissioned by Kathryn Gould through Meet the Composer Foundation's Magnum Opus Project

Technical Details

Product number:
LSMC 50531
Delivery rights:


Set Ascending Direction
  • Fire and Ice
    Conductor: Jung-Ho Pak
    Orchestra: Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra
    March 1, 2019 | Hong Kong (China) , Lee Shau Kee Lecture Centre
  • Fire and Ice
    Conductor: Marin Alsop
    Orchestra: Cabrillo Festival Orchestra
    August 10, 2011 | Santa Cruz, CA (United States of America) , Santa Cruz Civic Auditorium
  • Fire and Ice
    Conductor: Marin Alsop
    Orchestra: Cabrillo Festival Orchestra
    August 10, 2011 | Santa Cruz, CA (United States of America) , Santa Cruz Auditorium
  • Fire and Ice
    Conductor: Michael Morgan
    Orchestra: Oakland East Bay Symphony
    February 23, 2007 | Oakland, CA (United States of America) — World Premiere
  • Set Ascending Direction

    More from this series

    Fire (Movement I of Fire and Ice)


    Be the first to review this product.