• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition
2-3 Tage
Hire/performance material

Violin Concerto

für Violine und Orchester
violin and orchestra
Product number: LSL 10320
Edition: Performance material

Product Details


My Violin Concerto is scored for a Classical-sized orchestra, with the addition of a harp and celeste, and lasts around 17 minutes. Although the work sets out to explore the lyrical characteristics of the solo instrument, it is only gradually that the violin finds its full, lyric voice, and thence, as the work progresses, a more dominant role. This, in one sense, is the ‘journey’ of the piece.

The work’s straightforward formal scheme consists of three movements (roughly fast–slow–fast) framed by a reflective introduction and epilogue. However, these formal divisions exist within a single, unbroken arc. Such an overall symmetrical shape places the slow Arioso (itself divided into three subsections) at the midpoint, sandwiched between the two Allegro movements.    

The dramaturgy of the piece centres on a twofold search. First there is the ongoing pursuit to ‘recapture’ the simple melodic material stated by the solo violin – accompanied by the harp’s bass register – during the opening bars. Whilst aspects of this melody are invoked frequently throughout (especially in the violin cadenza which closes the Arioso movement), it is only with the final and most important climax of the work that the melody appears again in its complete form, now accompanied by violent, orchestral stabs. The second search is for a tonal resting place, the arrival of which is delayed until the close of the epilogue.

The original version of the Violin Concerto, commissioned by the Netherlands Chamber Orchestra, was premiered in Amsterdam in February 2012 with Gordan Nikolic as soloist. The present, revised version was created for Barnabás Kelemen and the Hallé. The piece is dedicated, with admiration, to my friend Oliver Knussen. (Ryan Wigglesworth)

Orchestral Cast


More Information

Violin Concerto
für Violine und Orchester
Performance material
Schott Music Ltd., London
16 ′
World Premiere:
February 17, 2012 · Amsterdam (NL)
Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ
Gordan Nikolic, violin · Conductor: Ryan Wigglesworth · Het Nederlands Kamerorkest

February 13, 2014 · Manchester (UK)
Bridgewater Hall
Barnabas Kelemen, violin · Conductor: Ryan Wigglesworth · Hallé Orchestra
(World premiere of revised version)
Commissioned work :
Commissioned by the Netherlands Chamber Orchestra and Gordan Nikolic

Technical Details

Product number:
LSL 10320

Preview/Media Contents



Set Ascending Direction
  • Violin Concerto
    Violin Concerto
    Conductor: Ryan Wigglesworth
    Orchestra: Radio Filharmonisch Orkest
    December 2, 2017 | Amsterdam (Netherlands) , Concertgebouw
  • Violin Concerto
    Violin Concerto
    Conductor: Ryan Wigglesworth
    Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra
    March 2, 2016 | London (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) , Barbican Hall
  • Violin Concerto
    Ryan Wigglesworth Portrait Concert
    Conductor: Ryan Wigglesworth
    Orchestra: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
    October 3, 2015 | Glasgow (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) , City Halls
  • Violin Concerto
    Violin Concerto
    Conductor: Ryan Wigglesworth
    Orchestra: Tapiola Sinfonietta
    February 12, 2015 | Uusimaa (Finland) , Tapiola Hall, Espoo Cultural Centre — National premiere
  • Violin Concerto
    Violin Concerto
    Conductor: Ryan Wigglesworth
    Orchestra: Hallé Orchestra
    February 13, 2014 | Manchester (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) , Bridgewater Hall — World premiere (Revision)
  • Set Ascending Direction

    More from this series

    Violin Concerto


    Be the first to review this product.