• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition
2-3 Tage
Print edition

Flute Concerto (2002)

flute and orchestra
Product number: 9790550115910
Edition: Piano reduction with solo part
Incl. Tax, Excl. Shipping
Not in stock. No order booked

Product Details


Kalevi Aho's (b. 1949) Flute Concerto (2002) was initially inspired by the magnificent, enigmatic poetry of the Swede Tomas Tranströmer, but the vocal ideas nevertheless adapted themselves to the flute. There is lots of singing, lyrical music at the beginning and end of this three-movement work; the second movement, by contrast, is quick and brilliant. The finale follows from the second movement without a break, constituting an epilogue that draws all the threads together and brings the events to a close. This is one of the most beautiful works Aho has ever written. The virtuosic solo part is written for flute and alto flute, and Kari Vehmanen has created the piano reduction in 2019. The orchestral study score (ISMN 9790550096349) is available for sale and the orchestral material for hire.

More Information

Flute Concerto (2002)
Piano reduction with solo part
Fennica Gehrman

Technical Details

Product number:
0,37 kg


Be the first to review this product.