• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition
2-3 Tage
Hire/performance material


for orchestra
Product number: LS 6109-01
Edition: Performance material

Product Details


Adagio Opus 86 for both orchestra and solo piano composed by world-renowned composer and pianist Fazıl Say. The work has a duration of 12 minutes and was commissioned by the Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the orchestra and the end of the Second World War. This work is a requiem about a war that took place between 1939-1945 in which more than 60 million people died. The artist depicted the sadness, melancholy and destruction of war with a strong orchestration in this work. Composed in March 2020 when the global pandemic began, the work’s history has moved to the present. Besides being a requiem about the destruction of war, it also emphasizes the war of people's challenging and confused state of mind which began with the pandemic.

Orchestral Cast

2 · 2 · 2 · 2 - 2 · 2 · 1 · 0 - S. (P. · Xyl. · Vibr. · Tamb.) (2 Spieler) - Hfe. - Str. (12 · 10 · 8 · 8 · 4)

More Information

for orchestra
Performance material
Schott Music
Year of composition:
op. 86
10 ′
World Premiere:
November 16, 2020 Reutlingen, Stadthalle (D) · Conductor: Ola Rudner · Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen (Live stream without audience)
Commissioned work :
Kompositionsauftrag der Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen zu ihrem 75-jährigen Bestehen

Technical Details

Product number:
LS 6109-01


Be the first to review this product.