• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition
2-3 Tage
Hire/performance material

Durham Concerto

for violin, violoncello, Northumbrian pipes, Hammond organ and orchestra
Final revised edition by Paul Mann (2017)
violin, cello, Northumbrian pipes, Hammond-organ and orchestra
Edition: Performance material

Product Details


The general inspiration for the music was an idea of Durham, garnered from two or three short visits and a reading of a short history – so a sort of “Durham of the mind”, a stylized Durham; ‘my’ Durham, if you will, imagined into music. However, the defining inspiration for the piece was the Cathedral. 

My first visit to Durham in 2001 saw me standing open-mouthed on Palace Green, and then in silent awe as I walked into that formidable magnificence inside. Most of the themes came from the days immediately following my first experience of this extraordinary, inspiring building. The feeling that the very stones and pillars themselves are imbued with centuries of prayer, with people’s joy, grief, despair, even anger; gratitude and hope. As the tunes and chords and sounds started to organize themselves in my mind and onto manuscript paper, I realized that I was writing a sort of “day in the life of Durham”, and that the Cathedral would be its beginning, would be in its middle, and would be at its ending. 

The piece consists of six ‘pictures’ arranged into three parts – the morning, afternoon and evening of this imaginary Durham city. 

Jon Lord

Orchestral Cast

3 (3. auch Picc.) · 2 · Engl. Hr. · Es-Klar. · 2 · Bassklar. · 2 · Kfg. - 4 · 3 (1. auch Flhr. ad lib., 3. auch Piccolotr.) · 3 · 1 - P. S. (Glsp. · Xyl. · Marimb. · Röhrengl. · Trgl. · Schlittengl. · häng. Beck. · Beckenpaar · Tamt. · Schellentr. · Tomt. · kl. Tr. · gr. Tr. · Woodbl.) (5 Spieler) - Cel. · Hfe. (ad lib.2) - Str. (16 · 14 · 12 · 10 · 8 - Minimum: 14 · 12 · 10 · 8 · 6)


Part 1: Morning
I The Cathedral at Dawn
II Durham Awakes
Part 2: Afternoon
I The Road from Lindisfarne
II From Prebends Bridge
Part 3: Evening
I Rags and Galas
II Nocturne

More Information

Durham Concerto
for violin, violoncello, Northumbrian pipes, Hammond organ and orchestra
Final revised edition by Paul Mann (2017)
Performance material
Schott Music
Year of composition:
2007 (2017)
57 ′
World Premiere:
October 20, 2007 · Durham (UK)
Ruth Palmer, violin solo; Matthew Barley, cello solo; Kathryn Tickell, Northumbrian pipes; Jon Lord, Hammond organ · Conductor: Mischa Damev

May 19, 2015 · Hagen (D)
Shotaro Kageyama, Violine; Shengzhi Guo, Violoncello; Kathryn Tickell, Northumbrian pipes; Ralph Breitenbach, Hammond Orgel · Conductor: Paul Mann · Philharmonisches Orchester Hagen

Commissioned work :
Commissioned by the University of Durham

Technical Details

Product number:
LS 5802-01
hire material or extra format

Preview/Media Contents



Set Ascending Direction
  • Durham Concerto
    Conductor: Paul Mann
    Orchestra: Philharmonisches Orchester Hagen
    May 19, 2015 | Hagen (Germany) , Stadthalle — World Premiere (Revision)
  • Durham Concerto
    Conductor: Mischa Damev
    October 20, 2007 | Durham (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) , Cathedral — World Premiere
  • Set Ascending Direction


    Be the first to review this product.