• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition

Experimentalstudio des SWR Freiburg

About Experimentalstudio des SWR Freiburg

The Experimentalstudio des SWR in Freiburg (Germany) searches for syntheses in terms of acoustic arts and advanced technology through the medium of liveelectronic sound-extension. Therefore, several composers and musicians are invited every year for a work-scholarship for being able to realise their works in a creative discourse with the specialized equipment as well as the team of the Experimentalstudio, e. g. music information scientists, sound designers, soundengineers and sound-directors. Apart from creating new works together with the composers, the Experimentalstudio also performs as an ensemble and is regularly invited worldwide. After 40 years of presence in the international new music business it has established itself as a leading ensemble for performing ambitious compositions with live-electronics. The ensemble gives concerts regularly at almost all important festivals (e. g. Berliner Festwochen, Wiener Festwochen, Salzburger Festspiele, Festival d’Automne à Paris, Biennale di Venezia) as well as many well-known music theatres (like Teatro alla Scala Milano, Carnegie Hall New York, Théâtre de la Monnaie, Teatro Real Madrid) to name but a few.

Outstanding compositions were created at the Experimentalstudio by wellknown composers as Pierre Boulez, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Cristóbal Halffter, Vinko Globokar and Luigi Nono. Nono’s “tragedia dell’ascolto” “Prometeo” has been realized by the Experimentalstudio more than 50 times, and can be called a milestone in music history of the 20th century. The younger generation of composers is represented by such names as Mark Andre, Chaya Czernowin, José María Sánchez-Verdú, Brice Pauset and Georg Friedrich Haas. A long term relationship also exists to Mauricio Pollini, Claudio Abbado, Peter Eötvös, Daniel Barenboim, Gidon Kremer, Carolin and Jörg Widmann, Irvine Arditti and Roberto Fabbriciani.

The Experimentalstudio was awarded numerous prizes for its exemplarily work, recently the annual prize of the German record critics’ award.