• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition
2-3 Tage
Product number: WER 65672
Incl. Tax, Excl. Shipping
Title is available

Product Details


A kind of "organized confusion" characterizes the music of Sebastian Claren (b. 1965). "The music should, so to speak, exist without preconditions and should initially refer only to itself. In my estimation, culture and good-breeding are completely out of place in a work of art," says Claren. In his music, this view assumes audible form in a constant alternation between continuity and discontinuity, whether consecutive or simultaneous. It is a game of sophisticated montage techniques involving myriad contrasting splices and a multitude of camera positions translated into music. Yet his stupendously energetic and sometimes highly volatile compositions are not montages in the strict sense; they are not concerned with reproducing things already said elsewhere. Claren is more interested in the dense synchronicity of (inner) events viewed from the vantage point of the self, the composer, who, of course, works with and within past and present-day music. Hence Claren's keen interest in certain styles of pop music, which are no less essential to his aesthetic than the roughly one-hundred years of modern music and its forerunners.


Potemkin I: Baby Baby für Akkordeon und Streichtrio
Fehlstart (Detail) für 6 Instrumente
Alkan für Klavier
In der Hölle für 11 Instrumente
Charms: Dub für Orchester

More Information

Potemkin I: Baby Baby
78 ′41 ′′

Technical Details

Product number:
WER 65672
0,12 kg

More from this series

German Music Council / Contemporary Music Edition
In its renowned Contemporary Music Edition the German Music Council set itself the task of creating a basic listening library of contemporary composition in Germany. The edition is distinguished by the high quality of the performances and of the accompanying texts. It includes recordings by renowned interpreters and ensembles, often under the direction of the composer; the carefully edited booklets present the composers and musicologists in analyses of the works and in aesthetic commentaries. For more information on the composers within the Contemporary Music Edition (including biographies, lists of works and audio samples), please click here.


Be the first to review this product.