• Joy of Music – Over 250 years of quality, innovation, and tradition
2-3 Tage
Print edition

Concerted Chamber Musics

Product number: PHA 401
Edition: Score and critical report, complete edition
Incl. Tax, Excl. Shipping
Title is available

Product Details


The work of Paul Hindemith is encyclopedic in nature. From the outset, he worked in all musical genres and devised several of his musical ideas and projects not as individual, self-contained works but as work cycles
with different functional relationships. These contrasting pieces complement each other if experienced as part of the overall structure. Hindemith himself not only wanted a complete edition of his collected works but had begun planning it; at his death he left a detailed list of ‚Unpublished pieces for an eventual complete edition‘.
The Complete Works contain all finished works in all extant versions, newly engraved for the edition. Sketches and fragments are published in appendices of the relevant volume, and are evaluated in the Introduction and Critical Commentary by the respective volume editor.
Each volume contains a preface by the editorial directors and an introduction by the volume editor, delineating the genesis and performance history of the work, with authentic performance instructions, an evaluation of extant recordings by Paul Hindemith himself and a Critical Commentary.
The Complete Works of Paul Hindemith are thus presented in a critical, scholarly edition which is equally appropriate for study and performance. Hindemith researchers will welcome the numerous first publications of works by the composer, and practical musicians will appreciate the newly prepared, philologically ordered performance material.


Zur Edition
The Edition
Facsimiles - Chamber Music No. 1 Op. 24a (1922) [Seiner Durchlaucht dem Fürsten zugeeignet]
Chamber Music No. 2, Op. 36/1 (Piano Concerto, 1924) [Für Frau Emma Lübbecke-Job] - Chamber Music No. 3, Op. 36/2 (Cello Concerto, 1924/25) [Für Elsa und Willi Hof 1925]
Anhang - Chamber Music No. 1, Harmonium Part
Chamber Music No. 3, IV. Movement, early version Solo part
Critical Report

More Information

Concerted Chamber Musics
Score and critical report, complete edition
Schott Music
Commissioned work :
Im Auftrag und mit Unterstützung der Hindemith-Stiftung, Blonay (Vaud, Suisse)

Technical Details

Product number:
PHA 401
2,54 kg
27.1cm x 37.5cm
Delivery rights:
Distribution rights for all countries except USA

More from this series

Paul Hindemith - Complete Works


Be the first to review this product.