Werk der Woche - Christopher Cerrone: The Pieces That Fall to Earth

Christopher Cerrone’s The Pieces That Fall To Earth for soprano and chamber orchestra receives its world premiere with the Los Angeles Philharmonic on May 26 at the Walt Disney Concert Hall. Hila Plitmann joins as soloist, ...



Work of the Week - Richard Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier

Premiered in Dresden in 1911, Richard Strauss’ Der Rosenkavalier is one of the great operas of the twentieth century and is performed regularly around the world. In the last ten years the “Comedy for music” has had ...



Huw Watkins announced as BBC National Orchestra of Wales' Composer-in-Association

Schott is excited to announce that Huw Watkins has been named Composer-in-Association with BBC National Orchestra of Wales, 2015-2018.   Watkins' longstanding relationship with BBC NOW began with the commissioning ...



Work of the Week - Christian Jost: ROTKAMMERTRAUM

On 15 May 2015, the stage premiere of Christian Jost’s ballet Rotkammertraum (Dream of the Red Chamber) will be given in Essen by Folkwang Tanzstudio, with choreography by Fang Yu Shen. Stage design is by Günther Hellweg, ...



Work of the Week - Kurt Weill: The Road of Promise

The Collegiate Chorale presents the U.S. premiere of The Road of Promise , a new concert adaptation of Kurt Weill and Franz Werfel’s 1937 epic musical spectacle, The Eternal Road , at New York's Carnegie Hall on May ...



Schott Music Mourns Death of Maya Plisetskaya

The prima ballerina assoluta and wife of our composer Rodion Shchedrin died in Munich on 2 May at the age of 89. She was one of the most important dancers of our time and had maintained friendly contacts with the Schott ...



schott aktuell - the journal 3/2015: The Brass Age

Our current issue focuses on the French horn – ‘Instrument of the Year 2015’ – and its brass relatives from trumpet to tuba. This is prompted by the world première of Krzysztof Penderecki’s first concerto for solo trumpet, only ...



Work of the Week - Peter Eötvös: Senza sangue

On 1 May 2015 the New York Philharmonic will stage the world premiere of Peter Eötvös’ opera Senza sangue . The opera, conceived in one act and written for only two singers, is based on Alessandro Baricco’s eponymous ...



Subscribe to our newsletter